Durchgangslager Amersfoort (transit camp Amersfoort), was established at a former military barracks site near Utrecht in central Holland during 1941. From 1941 until its transfer to the Red Cross organisation in the spring of 1945, around 37,000 prisoners were registered at the camp, which operated in two periods - initially from summer 1941 to spring 1943 and later, from spring 1943 to spring 1945. Most were later transferred to major concentration camps such as Buchenwald, Neuengamme and Mauthausen. Later, inmates were also transported to death camps in the east. A minimum of around 650 people are known to have died at Amerfoort. Most of them were shot.

Durchgangslager Amersfoort

The currency was issued in five denominations - 10 cents, 25 cents, 1 gulden, 2.5 gulden and 5 gulden. All notes had an inverted "winkel" symbol and measure 90x50mm. The wording "POL. DURCHGANGSLAGERS AMERSFOORT" headed the note, with the date "1 JAN 1944", a serial number, asterix, value and "HÄFTLINGS - KANTINEGELD" also present. The reverse displays a note regarding the use of the tokens and printed signature of the Lagerkommandant Karl Peter Berg.