Located in the northeastern Dutch province of Drenthe, Westerbork served as a transit camp for Dutch Jews from 1942 to 1944. During these two years, almost 100,000 Jews were deported from the camp. Over 90% were sent to Auschwitz or Sobibor, where the majority were killed upon arrival.


Westerbork notes were produced in four denominations, namely 10, 25, 50 and 100 cents. The first two notes were blue/pink and red/brown respectively. The latter, blue/brown and green/brown. A printer's watermark can often be found on the notes - it reads "NORMAAL" and "VUGA". A large toothed wheel, surrounds a silhouette of the camp on the obverse of the note. The reverse repeats the denomination at the top left and bottom right, with "LAGER WESTERBORK GUTSCHEIN" in the upper central portion of the note.

Westerbork Tokens